A “Between the Pages” Announcement

TITLE HER

As part of my Between the Pages book blog series, I blogged about the lives, historical periods and creative works of two great authors: Jane Austen and Thomas Hardy. I’d planned to continue the series until the end of the year as it was great fun to research these authors and write posts for you all to enjoy.

However, in hindsight, I was being a little too ambitious in planning to write Between the Pages posts every Tuesday. It was fine in August and September, but I am a lot busier since I started my part-time Masters and began working. While I love my job and my area of academic research, they both involve a lot of sitting in front of a computer screen. In any free time that I get, I like to get away from my screen and take a break from writing.

Also, my Between the Pages posts required a fair amount of research — if I have time and energy to write and research blog posts in my spare time, that energy is better spent on studying for my Masters.

Public domain image courtesy of Olu Eletu.

Public domain image courtesy of Olu Eletu.

I’ll still continue to blog, but my posting frequency is likely to be slightly more sporadic than in the past. Perhaps I’ll continue my Between the Pages series at some point in the future, but it’s going on hiatus for the time being.

How do you balance blogging with a busy life?

10 thoughts on “A “Between the Pages” Announcement

  1. Hi, no worries, you´re not the only one 🙂 I´ve got exacly the same problem – I´m sitting in front of a computer at work, then at home I rather catch-up with my friends and family since I´m living abroad. I also find that some posts require a lot of time to prepare and therefore I´m not posting as often as I´d like to, although the stuff is in my head. It just takes time to actually write it down in some readable way. I´m waaaay behind the schedule I drafted in Blogging 201 🙂 But I believe it´s better to let it be and write naturally than to force myself, for me it´s a hobby, not a job, so I don´t want to set myself deadlines.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, you know how I’ve been about balancing blogging with life…….. which means very little posts when real life gets busy! But kudos to you for having done as much as you could and I agree with you about getting some fresh air when you have the time. I should probably do more of that myself and peel myself away from my screen!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I really enjoyed the two months of my book blog series, but I can’t justify spending lots of time writing blog posts when I should be working on my Masters. There simply aren’t enough hours in the day!

      I crave fresh air — I try to get outside every day even if it’s only for a short walk in my lunch hour. And I think exercising outside makes me much more productive.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Truthfully? I took the summer off! But blogging is personal and it’s a great medium for constant experimentation, I think that’s why I like it. Write as often or as little as you wish, try new topics and schedules, and find what works. If the content is good, the readers will come!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment and share your thoughts....

