Audio: My favorite podcasts

I started listening to podcasts last year and I have become hooked on a few specific podcasts which I often listen to.

The #1 position has to go to This American Life (http://www.thisamericanlife.org). You might have heard of TAL before as they have a TV show as well and their podcast is often in the number 1 spot on the iTunes popularity list. If you haven’t, This American Life is a 60 minute podcast with a different theme each week and stories (usually non-fiction) are presented, which relate to that theme. Some weeks are more interesting than others but I always love downloading the latest TAL podcast every Monday.

Not long after I started listening to TAL, they aired a fascinating program called The Invention of Money. I remember I was washing dishes while listening and it probably took me twice as long as it normally would, because I was so enthralled by the program! It revolved around a central premise that ‘money is fiction’. Yeah, it sounds crazy, but listen to the podcast and see….

Here’s a link to that particular episode in their archives: http://www.thisamericanlife.org/radio-archives/episode/423/the-invention-of-money

#2 Freakonomics (http://www.freakonomics.com/). A podcast with the tagline “the hidden side of everything”. I enjoy the Freakonomics podcast because you’re never sure what they are going to talk about each week and because of the range of subjects they cover.

#3 The New York Times Front Page podcast. Basically, this podcast presents the top news stories in a quick podcast: perfect for getting the day’s news in a short space of time.

These are the podcasts which I frequently listen to and they are my current favorites. If you have any favorite podcasts, let me know by leaving a comment on this post as I always like to hear about different podcasts.

Leave a comment and share your thoughts....

