My Summer 2011 reading list

The longest day of the year has just passed (Midsummer – June 21) and, for me, summer is here at last, which means finding time to read lots of good books.

I compiled a list of four books which I want to read this summer, so here goes:

1: Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer – a biography of Christopher McCandless, which was also made into a movie (released in 2007).

A website about McCandless’s poignant story is at www.christophermccandless.info

2: The Man of My Dreams by Curtis Sittenfeld — I know it sounds like a trashy chick-lit book but I am a huge admirer of Sittenfeld’s writing. I read her book, American Wife, (an excellent fictionalized portrait of the life of Laura Bush) in a week, despite its length, as she has a great style and technique of writing.

3: On the Road by Jack Kerouac – an American classic. Enough said.

4: The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen – I read a magazine interview with Franzen and it piqued my curiosity about his writing….

Leave a comment and share your thoughts....

